Sunday, May 1, 2016
Click to Home
Click to Home Email PagePrint Preview

Go To Search

TDD Number:
(800) 326-6868

Lyon County Board of Commissioners

Lyon County is governed by a five-member board elected from geographic districts on a partisan basis for staggered four-year terms.  Each commissioner serves "at-large," which means that they are elected by and represent all citizens in the County.  The County Commissioners annually elect a chairperson, who serves as the Commission's presiding officer.  The Board of County Commissioners meet every 1st and 3rd Thursday of every month, normally at 9:00 a.m.  The agenda can be accessed on our website "Agenda/Minutes".

Ex-Officio Board
The Lyon County Board of Commissioners also serves as the "ex-officio" board for:

  • Central Lyon Vector Control District 
  • Mason Valley Mosquito Abatement District
  • Silver Springs General Improvement District
  • Walker River Weed Control District
  • Willowcreek General Improvement District.

Lyon County Commissioners

Bob Hastings - District 1 Don Alt-  District 2
P.O. Box 686
Dayton, Nevada 89403
3945 Cypress Street
Silver Springs, Nevada 89429
Phone:  (775) 771-9848
Phone: (775) 577-9048

Ray Fierro-District 3 Joe Mortensen, Chair  - District 4
409 Keystone Drive
Dayton, NV 89403
680 Miller Lane
Fernley, NV 89408
Phone:  (775) 246-0930 Phone: (775) 575-4778
Email Email

Greg Hunewill- District 5
16 Desert Creek Road
Wellington, Nevada 89444
Phone: (775) 465-1365

Open Meeting Law Manual may be found here


Comstock Historic District - Commissioner Fierro
Debt Management Commission - Commissioner Mortensen
Mason Valley Conservation District                                Commissioner Hunewill
Smith Valley Conservation District                                  Commissioner Hunewill
Dayton Valley Conservation District - Commissioner Fierro
Nevada Public Agency Insurance Pool                           Comptroller Foli
Nevada Association of Counties    
NACO Legislative Committee                                          Commissioner Hastings
NACO Public Lands -        Commissioners Hastings
Local Emergency Planning Committee -        Commissioner Hunewill
Northern Nevada Development Authority                  County Manager Page
Western Nevada Development District                           County Manager Page
Nevada WORKS -        Commissioner Hastings
State Land Use and Planning Advisory Committee
Walker River Irrigation District -        Commissioner Hunewill
Carson Water Subconservancy                                   Commissioner Fierro
Room Tax Board                                                               Commissioner Mortensen
V & T Railway Commission                                            Commissioner Hastings
Jail Inspections -        Commissioner Fierro
Carson Area Metropolitan Planning Organization -        Commissioner Fierro
Regional Transportation Commission                           Commissioner Fierro

DaytonFernleyMark TwainMound HouseSilver CitySilver Springs
StagecoachSmith ValleyYerington