Board of Commissioners


Lyon County is governed by a five-member board elected from geographic districts on a partisan basis for staggered four-year terms. Each commissioner serves "at-large," which means that they are elected by and represent all citizens in the County. The County Commissioners annually elect a chairperson, who serves as the Commission's presiding officer. The Board of County Commissioners meet every 1st and 3rd Thursday of every month, normally at 9:00 a.m. The agenda can be accessed on our website "Agenda/Minutes".

Lyon County Commissioners

Bob Hastings, Chair - District 1
P.O. Box 686
Dayton, Nevada 89403
Phone: (775) 461-6296
Don Alt- District 2
3945 Cypress Street
Silver Springs, Nevada 89429
Phone: (775) 461-6275

Ken Gray-District 3
1128 Cheatgrass Drive
Dayton, NV 89403
Phone: (775) 461-6273
Phone: (775) 220-1935
Joe Mortensen, Vice-Chair - District 4
680 Miller Lane
Fernley, NV 89408
Phone: (775) 461-6298

Greg Hunewill- District 5

16 Desert Creek Road
Wellington, Nevada 89444
Phone: (775) 461-6302

​Open Meeting Law

Open Meeting Law Manual


NACO Brochure

Commission Appointments

Comstock Historic District - Commissioner Gray
Debt Management Commission - Commissioner Mortensen
Mason Valley Conservation District - Commissioner Hunewill
Smith Valley Conservation District - Commissioner Hunewill
Dayton Valley Conservation District - Commissioner Gray
Nevada Public Agency Insurance Pool - Comptroller Foli
Nevada Public Agency Compensation Trust - Comptroller Foli
Nevada Association of Counties:
NACO Board of Directors - Commissioner Hunewill  NACO Legislative Committee - Commissioner Gray & Hunewill
NACO Public Lands - Commissioners Alt & Gray
Local Emergency Planning Committee - Commissioner Gray
Northern Nevada Development Authority - County Manager Page / Commissioner Gray
Nevada WORKS - Commissioner Hastings
State Land Use and Planning Advisory Committee -
Walker River Irrigation District - Commissioner Hunewill
Carson Water Subconservancy - Commissioner Gray
Room Tax Board - Commissioner Mortensen
Jail Inspections - Commissioner Hastings
Truckee Canal Safety Commission - Commissioner Mortensen
Carson Area Metropolitan Planning Organization - Commissioner Alt
Regional Transportation Commission - Commissioner Alt

Ex-Officio Board

The Lyon County Board of Commissioners also serves as the "ex-officio" board for:

  • Central Lyon Vector Control District
  • Mason Valley Mosquito Abatement District
  • Silver Springs General Improvement District
  • Walker River Weed Control District
  • Willowcreek General Improvement District